Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2: What I Thought!

Cloudy2

I consider Nick-inspired animated movies as merely watchable but I have to admit, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs did make me laugh and I couldn’t possibly give its sequel a miss. I was minutes into the movie and I was sporting the usual ‘meh’ face and then I watched as Earl Devereaux witnessed something wonderful break into (a) tear and yell “Its enough to make a grown man cry… But not this man. Get back in there TEAR!” and he pulled the tear back into his eye, THAT one scene sold me.

Welcome back to the hyper active animated Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2 and following a short ‘Previously’ things are set it motion just after the first movie. Flint, having saved Swallow Falls from his own ‘invention gone wrong’, the FLDSMDFR, gets relocated to San Franjose by super inventor and Flint’s idol Chester V who is tasked to clean Swallow Fans. But Chester aint what he seems and has got some nefarious plans in the works.

Every scene in Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2 is littered with hilarious stuff both animated and not. The comedy is written and executed well and the same goes for the visual gags that happens from start till end. The style from the first movie has been consistently maintained and if you liked the first one you are bound to like this one as well. The animation is fast and and it makes me wonder if it Nick behind it all.

As for the cast, almost everyone had me in splits. Be it Terry Crews’ athletic cop Earl Devereaux or Andy Samberg’s Brent McHale. Neil Patrick Harris’ Steve the monkey, despite its limited lines, was just uproarious. Bill Hader and Anna Faris reprises their roles as Flint Lockwood and Samantha Sparks and does enough justice to promise you a few chuckles. The Will Forte voiced Chester made me think they took a jig at Steve Jobs.

Yes its first and foremost a kids movie and I only judged it so but in the end, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2 was zany, juvenile (in a good way ofcourse), and all out odd ball but it makes for a modestly entertaining flick for adults and could be blindly suggested for kids…its so colorful I could go wee…and that makes it a brilliant watch if u are high too.

One thought on “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2: What I Thought!

Leave a Reply

